Heart of Americana

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for May 11, 2024
Hour 1: Loafer’s Glory

First Set

Utah Phillips & Mark Ross, “Loafer’s Glory / Nothin’ to Do but Go,” Loafer’s Glory, 2:19 Red House Records

Crooked Still, “New Railroad,” Shaken by a Low Sound, 2:35 Signature Sounds

Amythyst Kiah, “Polly Ann’s Hammer,” Songs of Our Native Daughters, 2:59 Smithsonian/Folkways

Second Set

Robert Force & Albert D’Ossché, “Slow Train,” When the Moon Fell on California, 3:10 Kicking Mule Records

Old Crow Medicine Show, “Wagon Wheel,” Old Crow Medicine Show, 3:52 Nettwerk

The Websters & Scott Nygaard, “Train on an Island,” Ten Thousand Miles, 2:31 Lots of Rabbits Records

David Grier, “Lone Soldier,” Lone Soldier, 3:19 Rounder

Third Set

John McCutcheon, “Reuben,” Sprout Wings and Fly, 4:53 Rounder

Mozaik, “Reuben’s Transatlantic Express,” Changing Trains, 5:35 Compass

The Websters & Scott Nygaard, “I Ain’t Gonna Work / Reuben’s Train,” Ten Thousand Miles, 4:55 Lots of Rabbits Records

Midway Music


Fourth Set

Sally Rogers & Howie Bursen, “Milwaukee St. Paul,” Satisfied Customers, 1:50 Flying Fish

John McCutcheon, “Ghost of the Good Old Days,” The Greatest Story Never Told, 3:05 Red House Records

The Rowan Brothers, “Train Don’t Come Here No More,” Best of Folk Music & Beyond 30th Anniversary, 4:32

June Carter Cash, “The L&N Don’t Stop Here Anymore,” The Oxford American Southern Sampler 1999, 3:27

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for May 11, 2024
Hour 2: I Hear a Train a’Coming

First Set

Lyle Lovett, “Texas Trilogy: Train Ride,” Step Inside This House, 2:34 Curb/MCA

Mavis Staples, “Last Train,” You Are Not Alone, 4:28 anti-

Guy Clark, “Texas 1947,” Old No. 1, 3:06 Sugar Hill

Terry Allen, “New Delhi Freight Train,” The Silent Majority, 6:30 Sugar Hill

Second Set

Sarah Jarosz, “Runaway Train,” Polaroid Lovers, 3:00 Rounder

Kasey Chambers, “Runaway Train,” Barricades and Brickwalls, 3:23 Warner Bros. Records

Ray Wylie Hubbard, “Last Train to Amsterdam,” Dangerous Spirits5:02

Raul Malo, “ Downbound Train,” Badlands: A Tribute to Bruce Springsteen’s Nebraska, 3:40 SubPop

Third Set

David Francey, “Morning Train,” The Waking Hour, 2:19 Red House Records

Jeffrey Foucault, “Train to Jackson,” Ghost Repeater, 4:17 Signature Sounds

Gob Iron, “Death’s Black Train,” Death Songs for the Living, 3:45 Sony BMG

Cassandra Wilson, “The Last Train to Clarksville,” New Moon Daughter, 5:15 Blue Note


Utah Phillips & Mark Ross, “The Whistle in the Night / Loafer’s Glory / Disenchantment,” Loafer’s Glory, 2:52 Red House Records

Odetta, “The Midnight Special,” Gonna Let It Shine, 4:51 (self-produced)