Tim O’Brien & The Crossing Live

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for May 16, 2020
Tim O’Brien & The Crossing Live

Tim O’Brien and The Crossing were recorded live in concert at The Freight & Salvage in Berkeley late Fall 2000. Members of The Crossing were: Tim O’Brien on mandolin and lead vocals, John Williams on accordion, Mark Schatz on bass, Karan Casey on vocals, Kevin Burke on fiddle, and Darrell Scott on guitar. Kurt Storey was the sound engineer.

Part 1

  1. “Yew Piney Mountain / Dusty Miller” (full band)
  2. “Ireland’s Green Shore” (Tim O’Brien, lead vocals)
  3. “A Mountaineer Is Always Free” (Tim O’Brien, lead vocals)
  4. “Into the West” (Tim O’Brien, lead vocals)
  5. Irish fiddle tunes (full band led by Kevin Burke)
  6. “Wagoner’s Lad” (Tim O’Brien & Karan Casey, lead vocals)
  7. “Down in the Willow Garden” (Tim O’Brien & Karan Casey, lead vocals)
  8. “Pastures of Plenty” (Karan Casey, lead vocals)
  9. “The Snows They Melt the Soonest” (Karan Casey, lead vocals)
  10. “Kid on the Mountain” (full band)
  11. “It’s a Great Day to Be Alive” (Darrell Scott, lead vocals)
  12. “Last Night’s Fun” (full band led by John Williams)


Tim O’Brien, “The Apple Press / The Apple Cart,” Two Journeys, 3:32 Howdy Skies Records

Part 2

  1. “The Crossing” (full band)
  2. “Norwegian Wood” (Tim O’Brien, lead vocals)
  3. “Walk Beside Me” (Tim O’Brien & Darrell Scott, lead vocals)
  4. “One I Love” (Karan Casey, lead vocals)
  5. “The King’s Shilling” (Karan Casey, lead vocals)
  6. “John Riley” (Tim O’Brien, lead vocals)
  7. “Old Joe Clark” (Darrell Scott, lead vocals)
  8. “Lay Down Your Weary Tune” (Tim O’Brien, lead vocals)
  9. “Wandering” (Tim O’Brien lead vocals)


Tim O’Brien, “Two Journeys (Deux Voyages),” Two Journeys, 4:16 Howdy Skies Records