End of Summer / Where Will We Go?

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for August 31, 2019
Hour 1: End of Summer / Moving On

First Set

Dar Williams, “The End of Summer,” End of Summer, 4:12 Razor & Tie

Cheryl Wheeler, “Summer’s Almost Over,” Defying Gravity, 3:05 Philo/Rounder

Fotheringay, “Two Weeks Last Summer,” Fotheringay, 3:45 Hannibal/Island

Mary Black, “Urge for Going,” Babes in the Woods, 5:02 Gifthorse/Dara

Peter Ostroushko, “When the Last Morning Glory Blooms,” When the Last Morning Glory Blooms, 5:27 Red House Records

Second Set

David Francey, “Far End of Summer,” Far End of Summer, 3:11 Laker Music

Béla Fleck, “Old Jellico / Puddle Jumper / Dead Man’s Hill,” The Bluegrass Sessions: Tales from the Acoustic Planet, 6:08 Warner Bros.

Midway Music

Bruce Cockburn, “Pibroch: The Wind in the Valley,” Crowing Ignites, 4:03 True North

Third Set

Iris DeMent, “Our Town,” Infamous Angel, 5:00 Philo/Rounder

Cheryl Wheeler, “75 Septembers,” Driving Home, 4:04 Philo/Rounder

Wishing Chair, “The Ghost of Will Harbut,” The Ghost of Will Harbut, 5:10 Terrakin Records

Dave Gunning, “They Don’t Do That No More,” Lift, 3:17 (self-produced)

The W Lovers, “This Little Town,” This Little Town, 3:31 (self-produced)

Fourth Set

Sally Rogers & Howie Bursen, “Milwaukee St. Paul,” Satisfied Customers, 1:41 Flying Fish

John McCutcheon, “The Ghost of the Good Old Days,” The Greatest Story Never Told, 3:05 Red House Records

David Francey, “Mill Towns,” Far End of Summer, 3:43 Laker Music

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for August 31, 2019
Hour 2: The Displacement Crisis—Where Will We Go?

First Set

Mary McCaslin, “Sunny California,” Sunny California, 2:35 Mercury

Dave Gunning, “This Changin’ Wind,” Lift, 3:30 (self-produced)

Danny Schmidt, “Bad Year for Cane,” Owls, 3:21 Live Once Records

Second Set

Tom Robinson, “The Thin Green Line,” Faith, Folk & Anarchy, 3:41 (self-produced)

Polarity, “Audio Crib Notes for in Debt We Trust,” In Debt We Trust, 5:02 subTEKsT Records

Jody Stecher, “Weasels and Snakes,” Wonders & Signs, 3:50 (self-produced)

Dan Zanes & Kyla Middleton, “Boll Weevil,” Give Us Your Poor, 4:06 Appleseed Records

Richard Thompson & Danny Thompson, “Drifting Through the Days,” Industry, 3:24 Hannibal Records

Tudur Huws Jones, “Dal i Drio,” Dal i Drio, 4:19 Sain Records

Third Set

Tom Payne, “Rocko’s Song,” American Impressionist Songwriters, 4:26 Waterbug Records

Townes Van Zandt, “Rex’s Blues,” Read View Mirror, 2:16 Sugar Hill

Lui Collins, “The Endless Mile,” Made in New England, 3:44 Molly Gamblin Music