New and Recent Releases

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for August 3, 2019
Hour 1: New and Recent Releases

First Set

We Banjo 3, “Annabelle’s Cannon,” Roots to Rise, Live, 3:03 (self-produced)

Dan Walsh, “The Light of Day,” Trio, 3:48 Rooksmere Records

Second Set

Kate Rusby, “Farmer’s Toast,” Philosophers, Poets, & Kings, 4:27 Pure Records

We Banjo 3, “Marry Me Monday,” Roots to Rise, Live, 3:54 (self-produced)

The Small Glories, “Alberta,” Assiniboine & The Red, 4:34 Red House / Compass

Yves Lambert Trio, “Suit du Cap Breton & La Deboulade,” Tentation, 4:09 (self-produced)

Midway Music

Arise & Go, “The Dirty Bee,” Meeting Place, 5:12 (self-produced)

Third Set

Väsen, “Rosenlundvalsen,” Trio of 3, 2:53 Northside Records

Barry Phillips, “Planxty Väsen,” Notebook, 3:36 Kousitc Music

Real Vocal String Quartet, “Exist,” Culture Kin, 7:20 Flower Note Records

Fourth Set

Kate Rusby, “Don’t Go Away,” Philosophers, Poets, & Kings, 4:13 Pure Records

Ordinary Elephant, “The War,” Honest, 3:47 (self-produced)

Tim O’Brien, “My Love Lies in the Ground,” Tim O’Brien Band, 3:12 Howdy Skies Records

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for August 3, 2019
Hour 2: New and Recent Releases / American Roots

First Set

Tim O’Brien, “Doney Gal,” Tim O’Brien Band, 2:56 Howdy Skies Records

Fire & Grace & Ash, “Red Prairie Dawn,” Partita Americana, 2:42 (self-produced)

Rising Appalachia, “I Believe in Being Ready,” Leylines, 2:10 (self-produced)

Josh Ritter, “Silver Blade,” Fever Breaks, 4:00 Pytheas Recordings

Second Set

Rhiannon Giddens, “Brown Baby,” There Is No Other, 5:00 Nonesuch

Norah Jones, “Begin Again,” Begin Again, 3:49 Blue Note

Buddy & Julie Miller, “Feast of the Dead,” Breakdown on 20th Ave. South, 3:59 New West

Third Set

Josh Ritter, “All Some Kind of Dream,” Fever Breaks, 4:15 Pytheas Recordings

Martyn Joseph, “Take Back the Sky,” The Young, 2:31 Pipe Records

Leyla McCalla, “Aleppo,” The Capitalist Blues, 3:37 Jazz Village

Rhiannon Giddens, “Letter,” There Is No Other, 2:25 Nonesuch

Rhiannon Giddens, “There Is No Other,” There Is No Other, 2:26 Nonesuch

Fourth Set

Amy Helm (Luther Dickinson & The Sisters of the Strawberry Moon), “Like a Songbird That Has Fallen,” Solstice, 2:50 New West

Mavis Staples & Ben Harper, “We Get By,” We Get By, 3:30 Anti-

The Highwomen, “Redesigning Women,” The Highwomen, 3:02 Low Country / Elektra