Cherish the Ladies Live in Concert

Folk Music & Beyond for December 23, 2017
Hour 1: Cherish the Ladies Live in Concert

This concert was recorded at The Freight & Salvage in Berkeley on December 17, 2017. Band members were:

Joanie Madden on flutes and whistles

Mary Coogan on guitar

Nollaig Casey on fiddle

Mirella Murray on accordion

Kathleen Boyle on keyboards

With special guests: Don Stiffe on lead vocals and bodhran, Julie Fitzgerald on fiddle and step dancing, and Garrett Coleman and Jason Oremus on Cajun instruments and step dancing.

  1. “Ding Dong Merrily on High”
  2. “O Come All Ye Faithful”
  3. “What Child Is This / The Tongs on the Fire / The Frost Is All Over”
  4. “Three Kings”
  5. “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen”
  6. “Henry McDermott Rowe / The Holly She Bears a Berry”
  7. “The American Wake”
  8. “The Poor Distressed Soldier / Angels We Have Heard on High”


Maddy Prior & The Carnival Band, “My Dancing Day,” Carols & Capers, 2:37 Park Records

Robin Williamson, “Past One O’Clock / Great Tom’s Cast,” A Winter’s Turning, 2:00 Flying Fish

The Chieftains, “Past 3 O’Clock,” The Bells of Dublin, 2:08 RCA

The Roches, “Adeste Fideles,” We Three Kings, 1:21 Ryko

Altan, “The Snowy Path,” The Best of Celtic Christmas, 2:10 Narada

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for December 23, 2017
Hour 2: Cherish the Ladies Live in Concert

  1. Happy birthday to Nollaig Casey!
  2. “That Night in Bethlehem” and reels
  3. “Errigal Beauty”
  4. “Rise Up Shepherd and Follow”
  5. “O Holy Night”
  6. Hornpipe reels
  7. “Planxty Irwin / Hallelujah”
  8. “Good King Wenceslas” and reels
  9. “Silent Night”

Closing Set

Kathy Mattea, “The Christ Child’s Lullabye,” The Soul of Christmas, 4:55 Tommyboy Records