New Releases in Celtic and American Roots Music, Summer 2014

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for August 2, 2014
Hour 1: New Releases / Celtic

First Set

Noriana Kennedy, “I’ve Endured,” Ebb n Flow, 3:46 (self-produced)

Anna Lynch, “Pretty Saro,” Anna Lynch, 4:51 (self-produced)

Andy Irvine with Rens van der Zalm, “Braes of Moneymore,” Parchalina, 4:02 (self-produced)

Phil Coulter & Paul Brady, “Farewell to Inishowen,” Echoes of Home, 3:04 Shanachie

Second Set

Emily Smith, “The Final Trawl,” Echoes, 4:12 White Fall Records

Maeve Gilchrist, “Nahatlach,” 20 Chandler Street, 5:42 Adventure Music

Midway Music

Baka Beyond, “Imbaye,” After the Tempest, 7:27 (self-produced)

Third Set

Ben & Ellen Harper, “Farmer’s Daughter,” Childhood Home, 3:15 Prestige Folklore

Atwater-Donnelly, “See That My Grave Is Kept Clean,” Banjo Babes, 5:09 (self-produced)

Anna Lynch, “Railroad Man,” Anna Lynch, 3:41 (self-produced)

Willie Watson, “Kitty Puss,” Folksinger, vol. 1, 3:16 Acony Records

Winifred Horan, “Greasy Coat,” Lost Girl Found, 3:12 (self-produced)

The Duhks, “Tonderhoning,” Beyond the Blue, 2:29 Compass

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for August 2, 2014
Hour 2: New Releases / American Roots

First Set

Slaid Cleaves, “Still Fighting the War,” Still Fighting the War, 2:53 Music Road Records

Kris Delmhorst, “Saw It All,” Blood Test, 3:24 Signature Sounds

Heather Maloney + Darlingside, “No Short Cuts,” Woodstock, 3:45 Signature Sounds

Marc Cohn, “Too Many Angels,” Looking into You: A Tribute to Jackson Browne, 4:35 Music Road Records

Second Set

Darden Smith, “Love Calling,” Love Calling, 3:40 Compass Records

Kathleen Grace, “Plateau,” No Place to Fall, 4:30 (self-produced)

Pussnboots, “Jesus Etc.,” No Fools, No Fun, 4:11 Blue Note

Barbara Higbie, “Walking,” Scenes from Life, 3:22 (self-produced)

Third Set

Lyle Lovett, “Rosie,” Looking into You: A Tribute to Jackson Browne, 3:40 Music Road Records

Annalivia, “Restless for a While,” The Same Way Down, 4:03 (self-produced)

Maeve Gilchrist, “The Explorer,” 20 Chandler Street, 4:59 Adventure Music

Fourth Set

Chris Webster & Nina Gerber, “You Just Have to Laugh,” Apple Blossom Lane, 5:04 Tootsie Roll Records

Carrie Elkins & Danny Schmidt, “Company of Friends,” For Keeps, 3:50 Signature Sounds

Red June, “I Am Free,” Ancient Dreams, 2:25 Organic Records


T Sisters, “The Wind,” Kindred Lines, 1:59 Spruce and Maple Music

Natalie Merchant, “The End,” Natalie Merchant, 5:08 Nonesuch