Tony McManus Live, Exploring the Folk-Classical Connection

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for June 21, 2014
Hour 1: Tony McManus Live

  1. “Les Barricades Mysterieuses”
  2. “Gnossienne No. 1” (Satie)
  3. “Nigra Sum” (Monteverdi)
  4. “Maids of Mitchelstown”
  5. “Roslin Castle / Vigo”
  6. “The Sleeping Tune / Na Gossidich”
  7. Tony McManus, “Valse des Belugas,” The Maker’s Mark, 4:59 Compass Records

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for June 21, 2014
Hour 2: Exploring the Folk-Classical Connection

First Set

Simon Mayor, “Primavera,” The Art of Mandolin, 3:31 (self-produced)

Alasdair Fraser & Natalie Haas, “La Sansonette,” Highlander’s Farewell, 4:01 Culburnie Records

Samantha Gillogly & Tim Maurice, “The Beauties of Autumn / The Road to Lisdoonvarna / Morrison Jig,” Celtic Chamber Music, 6:00 (self-produced)

Second Set

Máire Ní Chathasaigh & Chris Newman, “Robert Jordon,” Celtic Harpestry, 1:56 Imaginary Road Records

Simon Mayor, “Fantasia on the Yorkshire Anthem,” The Art of Mandolin, 3:00 (self-produced)

Mark O’Connor & Chris Thile, “Caprice No. 4 in D Major,” Thirty-Year Retrospective, 2:58 OMAC Records

Kruger Brothers, “Like a Spark,” Between the Notes, 1:42 Double Time Music

Third Set

Pacific Guitar Ensemble, “Jump Rope,” Begin, 3:33 GSP Recordings

Silk Road Ensemble with Yo-Yo Ma, “Cut the Rug / Wake the Dead,” A Playlist without Borders, 3:04 Sony Masterworks

The Musical Art Quintet, “Fela Feliz,” Nuevo Chamber, 6:00 Classical Revolution Records

Simon Mayor, “The Girl with the Flaxen Hair,” The Art of Mandolin, 2:20 (self-produced)

Fourth Set

Kruger Brothers, “Deena,” Between the Notes, 3:03 Double Time Music

Yo-Yo Ma, “Allegretto from Partita Op. 31 for Cello Solo,” A Playlist without Borders, 3:34 Sony Masterworks

Chris Thile, “Sonata No. 1 in G Minor: Fuga / Allegro,” Bach Sonatas & Partitas vol. 1, 4:00 Nonesuch