New Releases, Carolina Chocolate Drops

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for May 12, 2012
Hour 1: New Releases

First Set

The Chieftains & Lyle Lovett, "Don't Let Your Deal Go Down," Down The Old Plank Road, 2:38 BMG / RCA Victor

Carolina Chocolate Drops & The Luminescent Orchestrii, "Escoustas," Carolina Chocolate Drops / Luminescent Orchestrii, 4:38 Nonesuch

Second Set

The Chieftains, "The Chieftains Reunion," Voice of Ages, 11:22 Hear Music / Concord Music

Third Set

The Chieftains with Tim O'Brien, Bela Fleck, John Hiatt, & Jeff White, "Down the Old Plank Road," Down the Old Plank Road, 1:59 BMG / RCA Victor

The Chieftains & The Punch Brothers, "The Lark in the Clear Air," Voice of Ages, 3:20 Hear Music / Concord Music

The Chieftains & Imelda May, "Carolina Rua / The Ladies Pantalettes," Voice of Ages, 3:20 Hear Music / Concord Music

Fourth Set

Carolina Chocolate Drops, "Riro's House," Leaving Eden, 2:02 Nonesuch

The Chieftains & The Punch Brothers, "The Frost Is All Over," Voice of Ages, 3:06 Hear Music / Concord Music

Carolina Chocolate Drops, "Kerr's Negro Jig," Leaving Eden, 1:07 Nonesuch

Loreena McKennitt, "Between the Shadows," Troubadours on the Rhine, 4:27 Verve / Quinlan Road

Fifth Set

The Chieftains & Lisa Hannigan, "My Lagan Love," Voice of Ages, 4:27 Hear Music / Concord Music

Loreena McKennitt, "The Bonny Swans," Troubadours on the Rhine, 5:58 Verve / Quinlan Road

Folk Music & Beyond for May 12, 2012
Hour 2: Carolina Chocolate Drops

Interview with Carolina Chocolate Drops Conducted by Devon Strolovich (host of "The Fog City Blues")

  1. The Carolina Chocolate Drops, "Boodle-De-Bum-Bum," Leaving Eden, 4:03 Nonesuch
  2. The Carolina Chocolate Drops, "West End Blues," Leaving Eden, 3:01 Nonesuch
  3. The Carolina Chocolate Drops, "Country Girl," Leaving Eden, 4:03 Nonesuch
  4. The Carolina Chocolate Drops, "Kerr's Negro Jig" (live)
  5. The Carolina Chocolate Drops, "Snowden's Jig," Genuine Negro Jig, 3:52 Nonesuch
  6. The Carolina Chocolate Drops, "Mahalla," Leaving Eden, 1:53 Nonesuch
  7. The Carolina Chocolate Drops, "Daughter's Lament" (song from The Hunger Games film soundtrack)
  8. The Carolina Chocolate Drops, "George Jackson" (bonus track), Leaving Eden, Nonesuch
  9. The Carolina Chocolate Drops, "No Man's Mama" (live) 3:27

Closing Set

The Carolina Chocolate Drops, "Leaving Eden," Leaving Eden, 4:35 Nonesuch

The Chieftains & The Low Anthem, "School Day's Over," Voice of Ages, 3:32 Hear Music / Concord Music

The Carolina Chocolate Drops, "Pretty Bird," Leaving Eden, 4:06 Nonesuch