Winter Cold and New Releases for Early 2010

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for January 9, 2010
Hour 1: Winter Cold and New Releases

First Set

Carole King, "Chicken Soup with Rice," Really Rosie, 4:21 Ode Records

Esther Weintraub and Judith Kate Friedman, "Jewish Penicillin," Island on a Hill, 2:26 (self-produced)

Winterbloom, "The Riddle," Winterbloom: Traditions Rearranged, 4:02 Signature Sounds

Mick Moloney, "When McGuiness Gets a Job," If It Weren't for the Irish and the Jews, 4:08 Compass Records

Liz Carroll & John Doyle, "A Pound a Week Rise," Double Play, 4:23 Compass Records

The Battlefield Band, "The Miner of Golkinda," Zama Zama, 5:12 Temple Records

Midway Music

Jay Ungar & Molly Mason, "The Frostbite Set," The Pleasures of Winter, 5:40 Fiddle and Dance Records

Second Set

Maura O'Connell & Tim O'Brien, "The Blacksmith," Naked with Friends, 3:39 Sugar Hill

Sharon Shannon, "Cape Clear," Saints and Scoundrels, 3:31 Compass Records

Steve Martin & Mary Black, "The Calico Train," The Crow, 4:47 Rounder

Sarah Jarosz, "Mansinneedof," Sarah Jarosz, 2:51 Sugar Hill

Po' Girl, "Old Mountain Line," Po' Girl Live, 2:52 (self-produced)

Third Set

The Finest Kind, "He Comes like the Rain," Singing Through the Hard Times: A Tribute to Utah Phillips, 3:27 Righteous Babe

John Gorka, "I Think of You," So Dark You See, 3:34 Red House Records

The Magnolia Sisters, "Faut Pas Tu Brailles," Stripped Down, 2:45 Arhoolie

Le Vent Du Nord, "Petit Reve V," La Part du Feu, 2:04 Borealis

Davey Graham, "Bloody Field of Flanders," Dance for Two People, 1:35

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for January 9, 2010
Hour 2: More New Releases

First Set

Steve Earle, "Lungs," Townes, 2:18 New West Records

Suzi Ragsdale, "Wake Up," Best Regards, 3:54 (self-produced)

Levon Helm, "Tennessee Jed," Electric Dirt, 5:55 Vanguard

Second Set

Martin Simpson, "Look Up, Look Down," True Stories, 3:22 Topic/Compass Records

Ramblin' Jack Elliott, "Soul of a Man," A Stranger Here, 4:15 Anti-

Geoff Muldaur & The Texas Sheiks, "Hard Time Killin' Floor," Geoff Muldaur and the Texas Sheihks, 4:19 (self-produced)

Third Set

Ruthie Foster, "Truth!" The Truth (according to Ruthie Foster), 3:57 Blue Corn Music

Blind Boys of Alabama & Ben Harper, "Take My Hand," Duets, 3:50 Saguaro Road Records

Omar Sosa & Tim Eriksen, "Promised Land," Across the Divide, 7:50 Half-Note Records


Béla Fleck, "Throw Down Your Heart," Throw Down Your Heart, 5:00 Rounder