New and Recent Releases for Mid-2009

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for July 11, 2009
Hour 1: New and Recent Releases

First Set

Maura O'Connell, "I Know My Love," Naked with Friends, 2:26 Sugar Hill

Robin Flower & Libby McLaren, "Sweet Pea's Good Luck / The Insight Reel," Twenty Years: Twenty Rivers, 5:37 (self-produced)

Second Set

The Green Fields of America / Robbie O'Connell, "The Islander's Lament," The Green Fields of America, 4:06 Compass

Fiona J. MacKenzie, "Song of Homesickness," A Good Suit of Clothes, 3:40 Greentrax

Third Set

Kerfuffle, "Arise Arise," To the Ground, 1:23 RootBeat Records

Al Stewart, "Lord Salisbury," Sparks of Ancient Light, 3:26 Appleseed Records

Richard Shindell, "Parasol Ants," Not Far Now, 3:46 Signature Sounds

Midway Music

Rachel Hair, "Back Home," The Lucky Smile, 5:05 March Hair Records

Fourth Set

Sharon Isbin & Mark O'Connor, "Road to Appalachia," Journey to the New World, 1:03 Sony

Euphonia, "Angeline the Baker," The Old Jaw Bone, 3:53 (self-produced)

Sara Watkins, "Jefferson," Sara Watkins, 3:01 Nonesuch

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for July 11, 2009
Hour 2: New Releases continued

First Set

Cris Williamson, "Alazan," Fringe, 3:37 Wolf Moon Records

Nanci Griffith, "One of These Days," The Loving Kind, 3:00 Rounder

The Flatlanders, "Homeland Refugee," Hills and Valleys, 3:56 New West

Abigail Washburn & The Sparrow Quartet, "A Kazakh Melody," Abigail Washburn & The Sparrow Quartet, 1:47 Nettwerk

Antje Duvekot, "Augen, Ohren, und Herz," The Near Demise of the High Wire Dancer, 3:36

Rachel Unthank & The Winterset, "Newcastle Lullaby," The Bairns, 6:23 Realworld/Ryko

Second Set

Sharon Isbin & Joan Baez, "Wayfaring Stranger," Journey to the New World, 4:59 Sony

Tim Eriksen & Omar Sosa, "Promised Land," Across the Divide, 7:05 Half Note

Third Set

Jackie Greene, "Like a Ball and Chain," Giving Up the Ghost, 3:59 429 Records

Sean Hayes, "Flowering Spade," Songs for Laura, various artists vol. 1, 3:00 Painted Sun

The Weepies, "Orbiting," Hideaway, 2:55 Nettwerk

Tommy Emmanuel, "Sukiyaki," Center Stage, 1:34 Favored Nations Acoustic

Fourth Set

Guy Davis, "Angels Are Calling," Sweetheart Like You, 4:56 Red House Records

Buddy & Julie Miller, "Long Time," Written in Chalk, 4:13 New West

Steve Earle, "Marie," Townes, 4:52 New West

Slaid Cleaves, "Cry," Everything You Love Will Be Taken Away, 3:51 Music Road Records

Indigo Girls, "Digging for Your Dream," Poseidon and the Bitter Bug, 3:57 Vanguard


Blind Boys of Alabama, "Free at Last," Down in New Orleans, 3:00 Time/Life

Jake Shimabukuro, "Thriller," Live, 4:05 Hitchhike Records