Lament, Turning Tradition on Its Head

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for April 2, 2005
Hour 1: Lament

Alanna O'Kelly, "One Breath," Lament, :44 Real World Records

The Harp Consort, "Separation of Soul and Body," Carolan's Harp, 1:16 BMG

The Harp Consort, "Charles McCabe's Lamentation," Carolan's Harp, :25 BMG

Davy Spillane, "Lament for the Dead of the North," Lament, 2:21 Real World Records

Loreena McKennitt, "Ancient Pines," Celtic Twilight, 3:34 Hearts O'Space

Neil Martin, "John O'Dwyer of the Glen," Lament, 3:10 Real World Records

The Harp Consort, "Carolan's Lamentation for Charles McCabe," Carolan's Harp, 6:35 BMG

Christy Moore, "Danny Boy," Lament, 2:47 Real World Records

Talitha MacKenzie, "The MacKenzie Lullabye," Celtic Twilight 2, 3:02 Hearts O'Space

Belfast Harp Orchestra, "Earth, Water, Wind, and Fire," Celtic Harpestry, 4:43 Imaginary Road Records

Julie Murphy & Annie Ebrel, "Farfarwell Fo I Langyfelach Lon," Celtic Colors of the World, 4:05 Allegro

Derek Bell, "Carolan's Farewell," Lament, 4:21 Real World Records

Midway Music

Máire Ní Chathasaigh, "The Rumours of Ballyloughlin, The Golden String Hornpipe" Celtic Harpestry, Imaginary Road

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for April 2, 2005
Hour 2: Turning Tradition on Its Head, American-Style

First Set

Kate & Anna McGarrigle, "Goin' Back to Harlan," Matapedia, 4:52 Hannibal/Rykodisc

Snakefarm, "Little Maggie," The Rose and the Briar, 3:07 Sony Legacy

Crooked Still, "Darlin' Corey," Hop High, 3:42 Footprint Records

The Mammals, "D Medley," Rock That Babe, 4:36 Signature Sounds

Second Set

New Grange, "Handsome Molly," New Grange, 4:59 Compass

The Wayfaring Strangers, "Man of Constant Sorrow," Shifting Sands of Time, 3:20 Rounder

The Mammals, "Fall on My Knees," Rock That Babe, 3:06 Signature Sounds

Third Set

Old Crow Medicine Show, "CC Rider," Old Crow Medicine Show, 3:47 Netwerk America

Laura Love with Linda Tillery & The Cultural Heritage Choir, "Wayfaring Stranger," Say Yo' Business, 4:28 Earthbeat

The Websters & Scott Nygaard, "There Is a Balm in Gilead," Ten Thousand Miles, 4:10 Lots of Rabbit Records

Fourth Set

Kieran Kane & Kevin Welch with Fats Kaplin, "You Can't Save Everybody," You Can't Save Everybody, 3:12 Compass

Ollabelle, "John the Revelator," Ollabelle, 4:08 Sony/Columbia

The Duhks, "Death Came a' Knockin'," The Duhks, 3:44 Sugar Hill

The Be Good Tanyas, "In My Time of Dying," Chinatown, 3:43 Netwerk America


Ani DiFranco, "Amazing Grace," Dilate, 7:07 Righteous Babe