New and Recent Releases for Summer 2004

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for July 3, 2004
Hour 1: New and Recent Releases in Celtic Music

Opening Song

Croft No. Five, "Release Da Hounds," Let Scotland Flourish, 5:28 Foot Stompin'

First Set

Susan McKeown, "Sweet Liberty/Promenade," Sweet Liberty, 6:04 World Village/Harmonia Mundi

Bohola, "Bluehill/Lonesome Robin/Carracastle Lasses," 4, 9:08 Shanachie

Midway Music

The Occasionals, "Yon Toun," Reel of Four, 4:26 Greentrax

Second Set

Peter Bellamy & Dave Swarbrick, "Around Cape Horn," Swarb!! 2:29 Free Reed

Battlefield Band, "Bagad Kemper/Tribute at Baghdad Roundabout/McKenna's Jig," Out for the Night, 5:12 Temple Records

Third Set

The Watersons, "The Prickle Holly Bush," Mighty River of Song, 4:04 Topic Records

Todd Menton, The Rushes Green," Where Will You Land, 5:02 New Folk Records

Maria Gilhooley & Oliver Knight, "A Sweet Lullaby," Mighty River of Song, 5:18 Topic Records

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for July 3, 2004
Hour 2: New and Recent Releases in American Folk

First Set

Catie Curtis, "Deliver Me," Dreaming in Romance Languages, 3:24 Vanguard

Dana Robinson, "Sadie," Midnight Salvage, 4:00 Alcazar Productions

Larry Murante, "Katie's House," Water's Edge, 4:48 (self- produced)

Jerry Douglas, "Shoulder to Shoulder," Slide Rule, 2:41 Sugar Hill

The Websters (Chris & Cassie) and Scott Nygaard, "Train on the Island," Ten Thousand Miles, 2:31 Lots of Rabbits Records

Second Set

Keb' Mo', "House in California," Keep It Simple, 2:42 Okeh/Epic

Bela Fleck & The Flecktones, "Ballad of Jed Clampett," Little Worlds, 3:55 Columbia

Taj Mahal, "Two-Step de Grand Mallet," Creole Bred, 3:51 Vanguard

Third Set

The Websters (Chris & Cassie) and Scott Nygaard, "I Ain't Gonna Work Tomorrow/Reuben's Train," Ten Thousand Miles, 4:55 Lots of Rabbits Records

Kenny Edwards, "Misery and Happiness," Kenny Edwards, 3:38 Fireheart Records

Mindy Smith, "Jolene," Just Because I'm a Woman, 4:14 Sugar Hill

Laurie Lewis & Tom Rozum, "Just a Lie," Guest House, 4:15 Hightone Records


Rev. Frederick Douglas Kirkpatrick, "Nothing But His Blood," Best of Broadside, 2:52 Smithsonian Folkways

Sonia, "No More Songs," No Bomb Is Smart, 4:22 disappear records

Edgar Meyer, "Wishful Thinking," Music for Two, 2:56 Sony/Columbia