The Celto-Scandinavian Connection, Music from Scandinavia, Early 2002

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for March 2, 2002
Hour 1: The Celto-Scandinavian Connection

First set

Aly Bain & Ale Moeller, "Tame Her When Da Sna Come/Da Dykes O'Voe/Sailor O'er Da Rough Trees," Fully Rigged, 2:35 NorthSide

Karen Tweed & Timo Alakotila, "Faluspelmanslag," May Monday, 3:15 NorthSide

JPP, "Pelimanni's Revenge," Rhapsody, 3:34 Xenophile/Green Linnet

Troka, "Smash," Smash, 3:00 NorthSide

Second set

Harv, "The Quartet," Must, 2:50 NorthSide

Triakel, "Christmas Carol from Alvdalen," Wintersongs, 3:01


Mike Marshall & Darol Anger, "Vasen Your Seatbelts/The Crossing," The Duo Live/At Home and on the Range, 7:37 Compass

Midway music

Aly Bain & Ale Moeller, "Hallings from Dalsland/Da Bonnie Isle of Whalsay/Da Fashion O' Da Delting Lassies" and "Jim's Waltz," Fully Rigged, 6:05 NorthSide

Third set

Swap, "Bigger House," [sic], 3:54 NorthSide

Annbjorg Lien, "Irianda," Baba Yaga, 3:29 NorthSide

Anders Norudde, "Bulky Polka," Himself, 3:13 NorthSide

Fourth set

Chateau Neuf, "The Jumper," Stolen Goods, 2:00 NorthSide

Groupa, "Imeland," Nordic Roots, 3:57 NorthSide

Varttina, "Lieto," Ilmatar, 3:07 NorthSide

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for March 2, 2002
Hour 2: Music from Scandinavia

Fifth set

Hedningarna, "Polska After," Hedningarna, 3:30 NorthSide

Boot, "Lehmankello," Virvla, 2:58 NorthSide

Sari Kaasinen & Sirmakka, "Luomu," Tsihi Tsihi, 3:12 Fazer Records

Varttina, "Sulhassii," Seleniko, 2:55 Green Linnet

Sixth set

Vasen, "M. Nykanen," Live at the Nordic Roots Festival, 3:36 NorthSide

Den Fule, "Skagget," Quake, 3:44 NorthSide

Varttina, "Aijo," Ilmatar, 4:19 NorthSide

Seventh set

Gjallarhorn, "Goddess of Spring," Sjofn, 5:13 NorthSide

Hedningarna, "What Do I Sing," Karelia Visa, 3:43 NorthSide

Kitka with Linda Tillery & The Cultural Heritage Choir, "Po Polu," Say Yo Business, 2:55 Earthbeat Records

Vasen, "Ploska," Live at the Nordic Roots Festival, 5:00 NorthSide

Closing Set

Maria Kalaniemi & Sven Ahlback, "Now We Shall Go into the Woods," Airbow, 2:13 NorthSide

Kitka, "Subrali Se Subrali," The Vine, 3:30 (self-produced)