New Releases for Summer 2001

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for July 7, 2001
Hour 1: New Releases in Celtic Music

First set

Karan Casey, "Eirigh Suas a Stoirin," The Winds Begin to Sing, 3:25 Shanachie

John Doyle, "So Early in the Spring," Evening Comes Early, 3:46 Shanachie

Nollaig Casey & Donal Lunny, "The Mouseskin Shoes/Dancing in Allihies," Journey: The Best of Donal Lunny, 3:50 Rounder

Second set

Kate Rusby, "Matt Hyland," Little Lights, 4:59 Compass

Karan Casey, "Where Are You Tonight I Wonder," The Winds Begin to Sing, 4:49 Shanachie

Margie Adam, "Avalon," Avalon, 4:49 Pleiades Records

Midway music

Jock Tamson's Bairns, "Loch Etive Side/South Uist Golf Club/The Country Girl and the Hungarian Fiddler/Mrs. Willie Wastle," May You Never Lack a Scone, 6:51 Greentrax

Third set

Cherish the Ladies, "Rambling Irishman," The Girls Won't Leave the Boys Along, 5:23 BMG/Windham Hill

Frank Harte & Donal Lunny, "Shan Van Vocht," Journey: The Best of Donal Lunny, 3:59 Rounder

Fourth set

John Doyle, "North Sea Holes," Evening Comes Early, 2:31 Shanachie

Jock Tamson's Bairns, "Gude Claret/Wee Hieland Laddie," May You Never Lack a Scone, 3:02 Greentrax

Karan Casey, "Who Put the Blood," The Winds Begin to Sing, 4:17 Shanachie

Maire Ni Chathasaigh & Chris Newman, "Three Piece Suite," Dialogues, 4:46 Old Bridge Music

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for July 7, 2001
Hour 2: New Releases in American Folk

First set

Joni Mitchell, "Michael from Mountains," Joni Mitchell, 3:38 Reprise

Tim Buckley, "Phantasmagoria in Two," Morning Glory: The Tim Buckley Anthology, 4:42 Rhino

Vivian's Keeper, "Fall Like Rain," One Step Closer, 4:34 (self-produced)

Equation, "Paper Bag," The Lucky Few, 5:06 Putumayo

Second set

Gillian Welch, "Wind and Rain," Songcatcher, 3:20 Vanguard

John Doyle, "Blue Diamond Mines," Evening Comes Early, 4:31 Shanachie

Dave Carter & Tracy Grammer, "Ordinary Town," Drum Hat Buddha, 2:48 Signature Sounds

Third set

Jackson Browne & Sharon Shannon, "Man of Constant Sorrow," The Diamond Mountain Sessions, 3:36 Compass

Soggy Bottom Boys, "Man of Constant Sorrow," O Brother, Where Art Thou? 3:13 Mercury

Ray Wylie Hubbard, "Three Days Straight," Eternal and Lowdown, 3:35 Rounder

Fourth set

Steve Earle & Sharon Shannon, "Galway Girl," The Diamond Mountain Sessions, 3:01 Compass

Tom Landa & The Paperboys, "All Along the Watchtower," A Nod to Bob, 4:20 Red House Records

Richard Thompson, "Mr. Rebound," Action Packed: The Best of the Capitol Years, 4:02 Capitol Records

Nina Gerber & Da We Be's, "Riff Raff," Not Before Noon, 6:10 Goatscape Music