Celtic Cowboys and Texas Troubadours

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist for April 8, 2000
Hour 1: Celtic Cowboys

First set

Shantalla, “The Rocky Road to Cashel,” Shantalla, 2:48 Green Linnet

Fernhill, “Cowboi,” Celtic Colours of the World, 3:27 Allegro

Second set

Ceolbeg, “Eppie Moray,” Cairn Water, 6:20 Greentrax

Mary Black, “Turning Away,” Speaking with the Angel, 4:54 Dara/Curb Records

Sileas, “Planxty Crockery/Dohmnaill Dubh,” Play on Light, 4:13 Green Linnet

Third set

Stan Rogers, “Giant,” Fogarty’s Cove, 3:33 Fogarty’s Cove Music

Stan Rogers, “Plenty of Hornpipe,” Fogarty’s Cove, 1:52 Fogarty’s Cove Music

Midway music

San Francisco Scottish Fiddlers, “Jack Broke da Prison Door/Donald Blue/Sleep Soond Ida Moarnin’/Lasses Trust in Providence/Boannie Isle O’Whiskey,” On Tour, 4:43 (self-produced)

Fourth set

Van Morrison & The Chieftains, “Shenandoah,” Long Journey Home, 3:52 BMG

Danny Carnahan & Robin Petrie, “Farewell to the Gold,” No Regrets, 4:03 DNA Records

Steve Tilston, “The Slip Jigs and Reels,” Of Moor and Mesa, 5:52 Green Linnet

Fifth set

Midnight Well, “Saw You Runnin’,” Midnight Well, 3:25 Mulligan Music

Tim O’Brien, “The Crossing,” The Crossing, 2:44 Alula

Folk Music & Beyond Playlist
Hour 2: Texas Troubadours

First set

Tim O’Brien, “John Riley,” The Crossing, 4:59 Alula

Lyle Lovett, “Lungs,” Step Inside This House, 2:17 Curb/MCA

Guy Clark, “Cold Dog Soup,” Cold Dog Soup, 3:32 Sugar Hill Records

Ray Wylie Hubbard, “Conversation with the Devil,” Crusades of the Restless Knights, 5:06 Philo/Rounder

Tish Hinojosa, “Laughing River Running,” Dreaming from the Labyrinth, 4:36 Warner Bros. Records

Second set

Ann Armstrong, “Texas Moon,” I Go To Pieces, 3:47 Heads Up Records

Lyle Lovett, “Flying Shoes,” Step inside This House, 4:34 Curb/MCA

Third set

Townes Van Zandt, “Rex’s Blues,” Rearview Mirror, 2:20 Sugar Hill

Nanci Griffith, “Spin On A Red Brick Floor,” Shelter, 2:52 Putumayo

Lyle Lovett, “Texas Trilogy: Train Ride,” Step inside This House, 2:34 Curb/MCA

June Carter Cash, “The L&N Don’t Stop Here Anymore,” Oxford American Southern Sampler 1999, 3:25

Terry Allen, “New Delhi Freight Train,” Lubbock (On Everything), 7:40 Fate Records


Flaco Jimenez & Peter Rowan, “Free Mexican Airforce,” The Best of Flaco Jimenez, 4:43 Arhoolie

Tish Hinojosa, “By the Rio Grande,” Culture Swing, Rounder